Follow Your Heart Vegan Egg

Ingredients – Whole algal flour, Whole algal protein, Modified cellulose, Cellulose, Gellan gum, Calcium lactate (plant source), Carageenan, Nutritional yeast, Black salt.

I had been reading rave reviews of this plant-based egg replacer all over the internet (egg replacer you can scramble – girly scream of excitement!) so Allergy Little and I were pretty excited to try this.  Well, to be fair, I was excited to try this; he just wanted to do some whisking.  The instructions recommended ice cold water so we used ice cubes to cool the tap water down.  The instructions also said to whisk vigorously, and Allergy Little took this responsibility very seriously.

20160525_213649

Once the excitement of whisking had worn off, the complaining started.  “It smells yuck,” he said.  To be fair, it smelt sulphurous and eggy.  I tried to explain that this is what eggs smell like.  Allergy Little looked at me sceptically.  I told him all would be well once it was scrambled.  So we cooked the vegan egg mixture.

20160525_213816

 

 

“It looks like monster snot,” he said.  Again, annoyingly, Allergy Little was right; it did have a strange gel-like texture, not like scrambled eggs.  But the proof of the pudding, or plant-based egg substitute, is in the tasting.

I added a little black pepper and Maldon salt.  Allergy Little would just not try it, and,  despite his many allergies, he is often quite gung ho about trying new foods so this was an early warning for me.  I tried it.  I didn’t like the texture.  It was slimy and wrong.  I decided it was just because I was expecting scrambled egg texture and this was slightly different.  I just needed to get used to it and eat some more.  About a quarter of my way in, I decided that Allergy Little was right; there was something in this that was not agreeing with me.  After the lentil pasta debacle, I am much more open to trusting the Allergy Brothers’ first impressions.  They literally seem to be able to smell out their allergens.  Allergy Little’s complete refusal was a sign that I should quit before this made me really ill.  I have no idea which ingredient made me feel ill, but you can bet we won’t try this again!

20160525_213903

Leave a Reply

