Schar Gluten Free Apple Crumble

Ingredients

Apple Filling (50%): [Apple cubes (91%), Sugar, Cinnamon, Ascorbic Acid, Guar Gum, Citric Acid; Margarine [Palm Oil, Rapeseed Oil, Water, Mono- and Di-glycerides of Fatty Acids, Esters of Fatty Acids and Polyglycerol, Salt, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Extracts of Tocopherols, Aroma, Citric Acid, Beta-Carotene]; Light Brown Sugar, Maize Starch (Sulphites), Tapioca Starch, Potato Starch, Maize Flour.

May contain soya and milk.

This is the sort of product that I would normally never even bother to check the ingredients list of.  It’s far too unlikely that the Allergy Brothers can eat convenience foods like this.  I only discovered this product because it came up on their list of okay foods from the Food Maestro app.  So here it was; a dessert that I could keep in the freezer and pull out a portion pack when required.  I was already thinking how useful it would be for extended family dinners when I need a dessert for the rest of the family and a dessert for the Allergy Bros.  And then I took it out the oven…

20160321_195304

…As you can see the crumble itself is not burnt so it wasn’t cooked for too long or at a too high temperature, but the plastic tray has melted.  I don’t know about you, but I am not that keen on melted plastic with my food.  I checked the cooking instructions again, but it clearly says to only remove the cardboard box and the plastic wrap.

I did try the crumble (with a generous portion of Almond Dream vanilla icecream) and it was very nice, but, because of the cost and the melting, I think I will just stick with making my own crumble in the future.

Leave a Reply

