Caffe Sala, Colchester

I was having a bimble around Colchester town centre when I noticed this sign outside a café.

 

20151103_111436

I walked past and then realised I would be neglecting my duties towards this blog if I didn’t at least go in and have a chat with the staff about eating there with allergies.  Caffe Sala have cake.  Lots and lots of cake.

20151103_111413

 

The friendly waitress confirmed that they had gluten free cake and they had vegan cake.  I tentatively asked if they had gluten free, vegan cake.  She consulted a folder.  This is not always a good sign, but it turned out she needed to check because there was a choice of gluten free, vegan cake.  Inside my head, I did a girly squeal and high five.  Externally, I just asked for the St Clement’s cake with a coffee (and there was a choice of three different non-dairy milks, or moo milk), and this what it looked like:

20151103_110713

The food tasted great.  The interior of the café is quirky.  As someone just popping in by themselves, I appreciated that there was a wide range of seating options so I didn’t feel silly sitting at a huge table by myself.  I really appreciated that Caffe Sala is an independently opened business too.

Caffe Sala is in Eld Lane, Colchester, Essex, UK.

One comment

Leave a Reply

