Aduna Superfood Energy Bars

Well, I’ve messed up here a bit.  I have taken a photo of the Boabab bar, but not the Moringa bar.  I saved the wrapper of the Moringa bar for the ingredients list, and threw away the Baobab bar packaging.  It’s been one of those weeks.

Maybe I would be having a better week if I ate more food like these bars?  These bars are raw bars with a source of protein.  They are gluten free, wheat free, and contain no dairy ingredients.  Their big selling point is the presence of African superfoods, Moringa and Baobab fruit.

Let’s start with the Moringa Green Superleaf Energy bar.  Ingredients – Dates, Cashew nuts, Dried mango, Apple juice, Rice protein, Moringa leaf powder, Ground ginger.  (Made in a facility also handling other nuts, sesame seeds, gluten, milk and soya.)

I wasn’t very impressed with my first bite of this bar.  It tasted uncompromisingly leafy and green.  However, once I was used to this, it was actually quite a pleasant bar.  If getting more super foods, like Moringa, in your diet is important to you then there are certainly worse ways to do it than this bar.

Aduna Baobab Bar

The reason I didn’t keep the Baobab bar wrapper is because I actually threw half the bar away.  This is very unusual for me.  I just found the bar too tangy, tart and sour.  Baobab fruit is not my thing.

Thank you to Suma, the whole food suppliers and workers’ cooperative, for providing the free samples.  These were provided with no expectation of a review.

Leave a Reply

