People Say The Strangest Things…

The weather has been glorious for the last week.  The Allergy Brothers and I have been taking full advantage of the unseasonal sunshine.  We are very fortunate to live in walking distance of the sea.  This means that we can go to the beach and make sand castles after school.  The problem is that most of the Allergy Brothers’ food requires cooking from scratch and this cuts down on our playtime.  I had noticed that a local fish and chip shop was advertising that they can use gluten free batter and had other dietary options.  I thought I would give them a ring and see if they could cater for the Allergy Brothers as this would be a perfect post-beach, no cooking treat.  This is how the phone call went:

Me: Hi.  I need to ask some questions about whether you will be able to cater for my sons, who have multiple allergies.  Are your chips cooked in a separate fryer to the other food?

Lady: Yes, they are.

Me: (getting a bit excited) And what oil do you use?

Lady: Sunflower.

Me: (getting quite a bit excited): And they are definitely cooked on their own?

Lady: Oh yes.  Hang on, we use a chemical to stop the potatoes discolouring after they have been cut.  I’ll go and check the label.  [She comes back and reads me the label.  It’s basically some sulphites, which, although a problem for others, do not seem to affect the Allergy Brothers].

Me: (really very excited about a night off from cooking)  That sounds great.  We’ll see you soon.  (I’m about to put the phone down and tell the Allergy Brothers the good news when…)

Lady: (on a roll of helpfulness) We do jacket potatoes and salads too.  Or they could have something with gluten-free batter because that will be okay because we cook them with the chips.

Me: (inwardly yelling “Nnnnnnoooooo” while falling to my knees in slow-motion) So the gluten-free battered items are cooked with the chips?

Lady: (sheepishly): Yes.

Me: Okay, well thanks for your time, but unfortunately we won’t be able to eat at your restaurant. Thanks, and goodbye.

Two young boys are on a beach. They are facing away from the camera and are a bit over dressed.

Allergy Little and I have been using his non-nursery days to enjoy local tourist attractions without the crowds, but with good weather.  We have a season ticket to an animal park.  On our latest visit, I noticed that they now sell non-dairy ice cream.  I asked the sales assistant if he could tell me the ingredients.  He looked at the tub and seemed really puzzled.  Finally, he said “Well, it says it’s non-dairy, but it’s got egg in.”  This is not the first time I have heard this and I have never really found a nice way of replying that doesn’t make the other person sound silly.  So I just said “Well, cows don’t lay eggs, but I agree this might be a problem for vegans.  Thanks for your help.”

These were just the silly things people said to me about allergies and food this week!  What is your favourite or most hated comment you have ever had about allergies or your food choices?  I would love to hear that I am not alone!  Also, if anyone has a gracious response to the dairy and eggs situation, could you share it with me as I don’t like to be unkind, but the correct response is alluding me?  Finally, if you have had an allergy disappointment this week then don’t forget to cheer yourself up by entering our amazing Free From giveaway!

Leave a Reply

