Provamel Rice-Coconut Choco Milk

20150826_130938

Ingredients – Water, European rice (17%), Coconut milk (4%), Low fat cocoa, Chocolate (0.5%), Emulsifier: soya lecithin, Thickener: locust bean gum, Sea salt, Natural coconut flavour.

I’ll be honest; I drank this at the end of a mammoth 6 hour Tai Chi class (this might lead you to think that I am a fitness bunny.  I am more of a fitness sloth hence…).  I really was in no shape to judge, well, anything.  However, as I gulped it down, I noticed that, despite the absence of any sweeteners, it tasted sweet to me.  I think this is because my brain is used to sweet and chocolate going together.  The presence of chocolate flavour was enough to convince my exercise-addled brain that it was sweet too.  My brain also enjoyed the creaminess from the coconut.

The negatives of this product are that, as it is based on rice milk, it is not suitable for children aged under 5 years.  And, from a purely selfish point of view, the Allergy Brothers are allergic to it.  I really wish someone would make a chocolate flavoured almond milk in an individual serving pack.  Well, a girl can dream…

4 comments

  1. I had this too!!! I do wish they would make Almond milk as well… why is it not suitable for children under 5??
    just started following you, I have a vegan recipe/lifestyle & Cruelty-free beauty Blog as well, http://www.veganneeds.com
    so glad I found your blog & Happy to connect with you 🙂

    Like

    • Hi. I think I read that rice milk can contain trace levels of toxins, that might be problematic for people with small bodies, ie the under 5s.

      Pleased to link up with you too! I am definitely edging towards a vegan lifestyle so I will be pleased to follow you too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

